The Stanstead Historical Society was founded in 1929 as a voluntary organization dedicated to the history of the Eastern Townships border region east of Lake Memphremagog. In 1973, the Colby-Curtis Museum was created to showcase the Society's collections. It occupied various locations, including a former school and the former RCMP office in Stanstead, before settling in 1992 in the magnificent heritage house called Carrollcroft which currently houses it. Today, the Museum's collections include more than 14,000 objects, 45 linear meters of archives and 7,000 photographs. Each year, the Museum receives nearly 4,000 visitors, organizes some 30 events and offers at least three temporary exhibitions in addition to its permanent exhibitions.